The best nurse this Mother’s Day

When it comes to nurses, the best nurse we know is our mother. Moms have a special place as they have nurtured and cared for us since before we were born.

As we reflect on this Mother’s Day, the College of Nursing honors the many students that study nursing because of the influence of their mothers. We attribute these mothers as they have healed wounds, cared for the sick and served as examples for their children in more than just nursing.

Rachel and Elise Corbett and Cheryl Corbett

“From a very young age, I saw my mom assist and care for many people in need. She was there for the soon-to-be mothers in labor at the hospital, anxious to bring their child into the world safe and healthy with her aid.  She was answering the door for the neighbor’s kids coming over with bumps and scrapes to be healed. I saw Cheryl traveling the world internationally working with humanitarian groups, providing the instruction and training to help promote health and alleviate suffering worldwide. Most importantly, I watch her now educating and influencing the new generation of nurses at Brigham Young University. Cheryl has been an inspiring example and a tremendous influence as to why I became a nurse. I hope that someday I can achieve a smaIMG_0964.3ll part of what she has accomplished in her nursing career!”

—Rachel Corbett

“My mom is one of the most amazing people I know! She inspired me to pursue nursing through her passion and dedication to the profession of nursing. Through her great example my mother taught me that the Healer’s Art is more than just nursing skills or knowledge, rather it is increasing our ability to reach out and love those we serve.  As a child, I remember hearing my mom tell stories about being a nurse and thinking that I wanted to be just like her. Now, several years later I have my own stories to share about serving others and being a nurse. Happy Mother’s Day!”

—Elise Corbett

Jacob Ferrin and Stephanie Ferrin

“This mother’s day, I wish to express my gratitude to my sweet mom. There is no possible way that I could have made it to where I am without her. As a child, I was a bit of a space cadet as I struggled with clinically diagnosed ADD. School was always very difficult for me and I felt like the dumb kid in all of my classes. As valedictorian in high school and top of her class in nursing school, learning always came easy to my ICU nurse of a mother. Jake Ferrin Mother's Day

With her unmatched patience and compassion, my mom took time to sit with me and make sure that I understood my school work. Early on, she realized that I was more of an auditory learner and she would read books to me so that I could comprehend them better. She helped me establish a regular routine and she made sure that I was getting regular exercise through sports so that I could better learn to manage my ADD.

Most of all, she taught me to pray and seek the Lord’s strength and guidance in all that I do. She received criticism for how much she aided me, but she pressed on regardless. Now, working as a nurse in one of the intensive care units at Intermountain Medical Center, I hope that my accomplishments can speak to her unfailing charity and love. Thanks mom, for everything. I love you!”

—Jacob Ferrin


Erin Marshall and Stacie Hunsaker

Erin Hunsaker Mother'd Day“My mom is the perfect example of patience and love. She has always been my role model and I have always really respected her for being an Emergency Room Nurse. Her example has been a huge influence in my life and has encouraged me to become a nurse. She loves everyone she comes in contact with and has such a Christ-like attitude.  I hope that I can be half as good of a nurse as she is!”

—Erin Marshall

Sarah Stocksdale and Gaye Ray

“Some of my earliest memories are of my mother being a nurse. I remember her taking care of not only me, but the entire neighborhood whenever there was a bump or a bruise. She was always such an example to me of the spirit of nursing, the caring for everyone around you, even when it is hard or inconvenient. There were many times that my mom would go above and beyond what was necessary to help people who sometimes didn’t even realize they needed help. My Mom finished her Masters degree andSarahGaye Ray became a nurse practitioner at the same time that I began the nursing program at BYU (the same program she had done as an undergraduate student!) At that point, I though BYU nursing was the way I was following her, Who would have thought that a couple more years would have me doing my Nurse Practitioner degree at BYU while she was here as faculty! She has been an inspiration to me in both my life and my career and I am thankful for the constant support and wonderful example that I have!”

—Sarah Stocksdale

It is a special honor to be called a nurse, but an even greater honor to be called mom. Thank you to all moms who are our best nurses. We hope you had a great Mother’s Day!

Leave a Reply

