2013

Diane W. Allred FNP; fmaily nurse practitioner track; Highland, UT.

Aaron S. Bennion; family nurse practitioner track; NP, North Bend Medical Center; Coos Bay, OR. Aaron was named Nurse Practitioner Student of the Year in 2012. He is married with three boys. He enjoys running, cycling and being outdoors with his family.

Amy B. Carlson FNP-C, APRN; family nurse practitioner track; NP, Take Care Health Systems; Chicago, IL.

I was fully prepared for my new role as a nurse practitioner from BYU’s program.

Kerri L. Erickson (BS ’90) FNP-c, APRN; family nurse practitioner track; PRN provider, Intermountain Healthcare (North Temple Clinic), and OnSite Care clinics; Centerville, UT. Kerri’s master’s thesis was published in the Journal of Pediatric Nursing. She worked as a Pediatric RN for 21 years at Primary Children’s Medical Center while raising five children, before returning to BYU to obtain a Master’s Degree and work as a Family Nurse Practitioner. She loves the fact that there are so many different areas and opportunities within the nursing field for learning and growth, but best of all she loves the fact that she can work part-time (PRN) while still being a full-time mom and enjoying a full family life. She loves sewing, swimming, going camping with her family, traveling with her husband, and supporting her kids in their many activities. She is grateful for the knowledge she has of the Plan of Salvation, for the Savior’s atoning sacrifice and the perspective that gives her as she works in the healthcare profession. Her favorite scripture quote is Moroni 10:5, “And by the power of the Holy Ghost, ye may know the truth of all things.”

I feel very blessed to have received my nursing education at BYU. There is a unique atmosphere of love, support, camaraderie, and dedication to providing and obtaining a quality education. There is a common desire among students and faculty to develop individual talents and abilities in order to “go forth and serve.” BYU College of Nursing gave me the skill set, work ethic, and confidence to go forward in my quest for knowledge and to continue in my commitment to love and serve my fellowmen.

Amy P. Handley FNP-C; family nurse practitioner track; Provo, UT.

Kim Houle; family nurse practitioner track; FNP-C, Provo Family Medicine, Revere Health; Lindon, UT.

Jennifer B. Jenkinson (BS ’91); family nurse practitioner track; Lindon, UT.

Allison Larkin (BS ’10) NP-C, APRN; family nurse practitioner track; NP, The Children’s Hospital of Philadelphia; Philadelphia, PA. Allison and her husband are living in Philadelphia while he completes medical school at the University of Pennsylvania. They love walking to work/school together and are on a quest to find the best cheesesteak in the city!

My experience at BYU benefitted my career because I was able to learn how to be a healthcare provider while learning the Healer’s art. I learned how to care for my brothers and sisters on Earth with the Spirit as well as a stethoscope. At BYU, I was able to learn about our mortal bodies with an eternal perspective.

Lorin J. Leithead RN, FNP; family nurse practitioner track; FNP, Santiam Hospital; Stayton, OR.

The faculty at BYU gave me the confidence to believe I could become a Family Nurse Practitioner.

Alec Rimmasch NP-c, APRN; family nurse practitioner track; medical director of occupational medicine, WorkPoint, a Service of Ashley Regional Medical Center; Vernal, UT.

The up-close and personal relationship I had with each of my professors helped me to dig deeper into my learning. I was able to learn a lot about myself as well as understand what matters most in my life.

2013 Robinson, Michael

2013 Graduate Michael S. Robinson

Michael S. Robinson NP-C, DNP-s; family nurse practitioner track; FNP, North Bend Medical Center; Coquille, OR. He enjoys traveling, reading, and anything outdoors with his family.

BYU provided the needed training to complete my national board certification as well as helping me learn the skills necessary to provide evidence-based care.

Eli G. Thornton CFNP; family nurse practitioner track; NP, Primary Health Urgent Care; Star, ID. Eli and his wife, Candace, have 4 wonderful children.

Anne Vincent; family nurse practitioner track; FNP, Premier Family Medical (Urgent Care) and Timpanogos Hospital Employee Health Clinic; Pleasant Grove, UT.

I got an excellent education with a small group of students. I loved BYU!

