2011

Steven Barlow FNP; family nurse practitioner track; Grand Forks, ND.

Callene Bobo (AS ’76, BS ’87) APRN, FNP-C, BC-ADM, CDE; family nurse practitioner track; FNP and Director of Diabetes Services, Mountain View Hospital; Payson, UT. Callene is also a Board Certified Advanced Diabetes Management and Certified Diabetes Educator.

It helped me tons to do what I wanted and needed to do to help people control their diabetes.

Joan M. Collett (BS ’98) FNP-c, AOCNP; family nurse practitioner track; oncology NP; Huntsman Cancer Institute; Lehi, UT. Joan has received AOCNP certification. She tries to live each day by the following statement by Mother Teresa: “Speak tenderly to them. Let there be kindness in your eyes, in your smile, in the warmth of your greeting. Always have a cheerful smile. Don’t give only your care, but give your heart as well.”

BYU provided the foundation for everything I have continued to learn as I have practiced in my field. Because of my experiences and education at BYU, I have to confidence to continue lifelong learning.

Elizabeth Daniels; family nurse practitioner track; Salem, UT.

Virginia C. Giles; family nurse practitioner track; Heber City, UT.

Todd Hamblin; family nurse practitioner track; NP, medical oncology and hematology; Provo, UT. Todd is an avid cyclist with an awesome family. He just received Advanced Oncology Certified Nurse Practitioner certification.

It was a great program and has benefited me a great deal even though I’m not in family practice.

Canessa Craigo Leeflang NP-C, FNP; family nurse practitioner track; Orem, UT. Canessa has a wonderful, hard-working husband and two beautiful, healthy, rambunctious children. When she’s not chasing after children or working at a pediatric office, she dreams about house projects and then convinces her hubby to do them on the weekends.

The career I have is because of my time and experience at BYU. Not only did I obtain my Master’s Degree and learn the “healer’s art” but many friends, mentors, job experiences and how I even mother my own children was cultivated through my nursing career and education at BYU.

Nathan Littlefield NP-C; family nurse practitioner track; orthopedic NP, Orthopedic Specialty Hospital; Draper, UT. Nathan has been married for 10 years and has three kids. His hobbies include running, anything outdoors and spending time with the family.

Carol M. Loucks; family nurse practitioner track; FNP, Intermountain Healthcare; Provo, UT.

Craig Nuttall FNP-C; family nurse practitioner track; assistant teaching professor in the BYU College of Nursing; Provo, UT. Craig is the Education Chair for the Utah Nurse Practitioner Association (UNPA) Board of Directors. He is a member of Sigma Theta Tau International (STTI) and the American Academy of Nurse Practitioners (AANP).

Bob Ralston FNP; family nurse practitioner track; NP, Intermountain Employee Clinic; Murray, UT.

Ryan J. Rasmussen; family nurse practitioner track; assistant teaching professor in the BYU College of Nursing; Springville, UT. Ryan is a member of Sigma Theta Tau International (STTI), the American Academy of Nurse Practitioners (AANP), and the Utah Nurse Practitioner Association (UNPA). He received the Outstanding Mentor award from BYU in 2014. He is married to RN Laurie Trapnell (BS ’90); they enjoy five children–three girls and two boys. 

Scott K. Summers; family nurse practitioner track; FNP, Revere Health otolaryngology head and neck surgery; Lehi, UT. Scott is also an adjunct faculty member in the BYU College of Nursing. He is married with three kids. He enjoys trail running and mountaineering.

BYU gave me a great educational foundation and wonderful colleagues and friends who I talk with frequently. I’m grateful for those relationships.

