2009

Karmin A. Bell APRN; family nurse practitioner track; NP, Mountainlands Community Health Center; Sandy, UT.

LoAndra Berg APRN; family nurse practitioner track; NP, Sandy Sleep Disorder Clinic; Springville, UT.

Jennifer L. Butcher; family nurse practitioner track; NP-C, cardiology, Revere Health; Provo, UT. Jennifer he enjoys being outdoors, riding bikes, going to classic car shows and spending time with family. She has four kids and is expecting her first grandbaby this year. She always loves learning new things.

Getting my master’s from BYU has helped me pursue my dream of being a nurse practitioner and helping people live better lives. Thank you, BYU!

Lacey Eden (BS ’02) NP-C; family nurse practitioner track; assistant teaching professor in the BYU College of Nursing; FNP, Willowcreek Pediatrics; Lehi, UT. Lacey was elected secretary of the immunization special interest group for the NAPNP and will represent this organization to the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention as they make changes to teh adolescent immunization catch-up schedule. She loves to run, hike, and spend time camping with her family. She is married with three children. 

Because the learning is faith based, it became second nature to always have a prayer in my heart to guide me to make the right decisions for my patients.

Josie Farmer (BS ’02); family nurse practitioner track; FNP, Pioneer Family Medicine; Meridian, ID. Josie is a full-time mom with two children and is married to another nurse practitioner. She enjoys her hobby of working once a week with nursing-home patients. Originally an oncology nurse, she has been surprised by the love she has developed for geriatrics.

Cherie M. Farnes FNP; family nurse practitioner track; NP, Utah Valley Pediatrics; Orem, UT. Cherie enjoys reading, traveling and spending time with her husband. She also loves outdoor activities and watching tennis.

Judd Hunter; family nurse practitioner track; NP, Central Utah Clinic; Spanish Fork, UT.

Rebecca Nead NP-C; family nurse practitioner track; FNP, United Healthcare; Spokane, WA.

Attending BYU armed me with the knowledge needed to treat common illnesses, but most importantly, the skills to use reliable sources to figure out how to treat my patients. As a new NP working independently in an office where the only other provider was my MA, the ability to use my resources was invaluable.

Jessica Alyse Parker (BS ’05) NP-C; family nurse practitioner track; Provo, UT. Jessica enjoys working hard and playing hard! She has two children who love life and see the joy in the simplest things. They help her to remember as President Gordon B. Hinckley said “Life is to be enjoyed not just endured.”

My experience at BYU has benefited my career because I learned to be passionate about helping others heal while in school and this has carried through to my practice. Being passionate about what I do is important because it keeps me excited and motivated to grow and learn in my field.

Reva J. Rasband FNP-C, APRN; family nurse practitioner track; NP, Optum Health and Envision Home Health and Hospice; Bluffdale, UT. Reva loves to travel, and her humanitarian work in South America has been a highlight of her career. She took first place in Hirsh writing contest for the American College of Legal Medicine in 2009.

Cheryl Scholes; family nurse practitioner track; FNP-c, Utah Pain Relief Institute; Sandy, UT.

BYU had supportive instructors and staff and I had wonderful classmates. I loved my experience!

Tiffany M. Spencer; family nurse practitioner track; NP, Valley OB/GYN; Pleasant Grove, UT. Tiffany has two sons and one daughter and loves being a grandma. In her free time she enjoys biking, gardening, and spending time with family.

Jenna Sturgeon APRN, NP-c (BS ’04); family nurse practitioner track; FNP, Woodbridge Walk In Irvine; Ladera Ranch, CA. Jenna’s hobbies and interests include raising four children–the oldest of whom is five. If she has any spare time, she enjoys gardening, doing family history, and going dancing with her husband. Her favorite quote is: “You can’t direct the wind, but you can adjust the sails.”

My experience at BYU gave me a solid foundation that I have relied on over and over again. It is a source of peace and strength to me. I am very grateful for the stellar education and training that I received at BYU that allows me to serve meaningfully in my home and in my community.

