2000

Kimberly Flinders Abbott (BS ’96); health care systems administration track; RN, Primary Children’s Hospital,  Wasatch Canyons Inpatient Psychiatry; Draper, UT. Kimberly is married to Rich Abbott, and they have seven children ages 3-15 (as of 2015). She has enjoyed running and racing in triathlons over the years. She is involved in community service through PTA, local politics, and church callings. She has stayed in pediatrics, working at Primary Children’s Hospital in their float pool, home health, and now at their psychiatric unit.

BYU gave me a strong clinical background with an emphasis on critical thinking and integrity. I have worked minimally over the years as I predominantly stayed home to raise my seven children, but I have been able to transition between areas and have been a valued employee because of the skills learned at BYU.

K. Jay Barton FNP-C, APRN; family nurse practitioner track; owner, Family First Medical PC; Spanish Fork, UT.

I gained the expertise and base knowledge to be successful in my career.

Judy Bendoski-Parrish (AS ’76, BS ’79) APRN; nursing administration track; NP,  Omega Interventional Pain Clinic; Salt Lake City, UT.

James C. Biesinger; family nurse practitioner track; NP, Revere Health Gastroenterology; Springville, UT.

Dale E. Cable (BS ’88); health care systems administration track; South Jordan, UT.

Jon Christensen PhD, RN; health care systems administration track; assistant professor of nursing, California State University, Los Angeles. Jon was selected twice as Undergraduate Faculty of the Year for CSULA School of Nursing (2008, 2012). He also received the University of San Diego Dean’s Scholar Award for two academic years (2009-2010, 2010-2011) and a Sigma Theta Tau International (STTI) scholarship for a doctoral student (2009). He maintained 4.0 GPA in PhD Program at University of San Diego Hahn School of Nursing. His favorite quote is: “What you get by reaching your destination is not nearly as important as what you will become by reaching your destination.”—Zig Ziglar

BYU gave me the knowledge, skills, and confidence to pursue a variety of career opportunities and prepared me well for my doctoral program. I never would have found my passion for teaching had it not been for my preparation at BYU.

Sarah B. Cormier; family nurse practitioner track; NP, Healthcare for Women; Grantsville, UT.

Amy Harmer Cox (BS ’97) FNP-C; family nurse practitioner track; Same Day Surgery, Primary Children’s Hospital; Kaysville, UT. Amy is a former assistant teaching professor in the BYU College of Nursing. She was nominated as Nurse Practitioner of the Year at Same Day Surgery in 2013. She keeps busy working full-time for Primary Children’s Hospital and raising her four children with her husband, Jon.

I was given a wonderful academic foundation on which to build with various career opportunities.

Steven K. Ipsen; health care systems administration track; bureau director, Bureau of Primary Care, Utah Department of Health; Sandy, UT. He received the Governor’s Award for Excellence for outstanding service in public health in 2009. He has received multiple letters of acknowledgement for his service from governors Gary Herbert and Jon Huntsman. He is happily married with four children; two boys and two girls. He loves both mountain and road biking, hiking, enjoying the outdoors, and spending time with family.

BYU benefitted me greatly. I attended 3 other colleges and universities and BYU was the best.

David C. Kay; health care systems administration track; nurse manager, Intermountain Healthcare; Spanish Fork, UT.

Linda G. Koenen NP-C; family nurse practitioner track; Rocky Mountain Women’s Health Center; Kaysville, UT. Linda has five children and four grandchildren. She enjoys water-skiing and spending time with her family.

Steve Mickelson FNP-C; family nurse practitioner track; director of nurses, Utah County Health Department; Lehi, UT.

Carma Miller DNP, MPH, RN; health care systems administration track; nursing faculty at BYU-Idaho; Rexburg, ID. Carma’s other responsibilities have included science advisory board honorary member of Bukovynian State Medical University in Chernivtsi, Ukraine; visiting professor of Shanghai Medical Workers College in Shanghai, China; women’s advisory council member of BYU-I; and former instructor in the BYU College of Nursing. Her favorite quote is: “When we put God first, all other things fall into their proper place or drop out of our lives.”—President Ezra Taft Benson.

Besides tremendous personal and professional growth obtained through my experience at BYU, I was introduced to teaching nursing, which is endlessly interesting and fulfilling to me. My education at BYU has opened doors—as well as broadened my perspectives, provided networking opportunities, led to new friends and colleagues, and enhanced opportunities for making a difference.

Leslie Soderberg (AS ’81); health care systems administration track; risk-management consultant, Primary Children’s Hospital; Sandy, UT. Leslie created the central line data base used at Intermountain Healthcare. She was an early adapter to Zero Harm and helped to implement that philosophy. She fills her time raising her “second family” of children whom she adopted and working as a risk-management consultant.

I am so grateful to have graduated with an advanced degree from a credible university a college which allows me to pursue any job opportunity I desire. I am not constrained by not having the degree. I have been able to advance my job opportunities as well as my salary.

