1992

Pauline F. Behunin (BS ’69); nursing administration track; Taylorsville, UT

John Vern Billings (AS ’79, BS ’81); psychiatric nurse practitioner track; retired; Spokane, WA.

I have fond memories of my Nursing education at BYU. Dr. Camilla Wood is a hero of mine. She confided in me that she was a psychiatric nurse and shared with me literature and stories. One of her comments gave me motive to try new things. She told me that she changed her course of study to biology when she realized that most psychiatric disorders would eventually be found to be biologically based. She said that before her research on breastmilk and breastfeeding, the normal blood sugar for a neonate was 30 mg/dL. Her research changed the medical standard to the normal levels for children, which changed the lives of millions of children.

Dr. Wood also gave me a copy of a book written by Hildegard Peplau. As a result of her gift, and the work I had to do to pass Dr. Mary Williams Nursing Theory class, I came to revere Hildegard Peplau as one of the most influential theorists since Florence Nightingale. When I attended the American Nurses Association conference (as a Utah Delegate) I had the pleasure of meeting Dr. Peplau and shaking her hand.

Dr. Lana Riddle inspired me with her story of her granddaughter who had suffered paraplegia. The current prognosis for children with paraplegia was grim. Dr. Riddle would not accept those standards and vigorously researched and implemented treatments which gave her granddaughter a completely different scenario to what she had been told by the professionals, and radically changed the treatment and prognosis for children with spinal cord injuries.

Dr. Millene Murphy will forever be the most influential educator in my life. It was not just what she had taught, and the research that she had done, but how she saw and treated others, which included myself. I have modeled my life after what I learned from her. Because of her I developed the motto, “If you come through my door you are worth my time, and you don’t have to do anything for me to accept you as a valuable human being.”

Lesley T. Black; nursing administration track; NP, VA Medical Center; Salt Lake City, UT.

Elizabeth S. Cox (BS ’73).

Nancy J. Goodwin; nursing administration track; Bountiful, UT.

Geraldine Lattin Hansen EdD; nursing administration track. Geraldine dedicated her life to teaching the Healer’s art. Starting in 1959 she served as a nursing instructor at Weber State University, later becoming nursing program director there until her retirement in 2002. While in this position she helped to develop numerous outreach nursing programs. She served on several committees for the National League of Nursing (NLN) and was an active participant in many nursing organizations on both the local and national level. She received the Henry Aldous Dixon Award. Geraldine died May 2008.

Bonnie Peatross Jackson RN; nursing administration track; retired infusion therapy nurse, VA Medical Center; Mesquite, NV. Bonnie graduated with honors and is a member of Sigma Theta Tau International (STTI). She is married to pediatrician Richard Jackson. They have traveled overseas with a local group, Youthlinc, on 9 humanitarian trips. They managed the Urgent Care clinic at Brighton Ski Resort and ran a bed and breakfast there for 6 years. In 2011 and 2012, Bonnie was a nurse for the Miss America Pageant in Las Vegas, NV. She now assists with the Miss Nevada Pageant. She also occasionally volunteers at the People’s Health Clinic in Park City, UT.

BYU increased my confidence to publish and better communicate with my peers and other medical staff.

Lynn M. Kelly; nursing administration track; Salt Lake City, UT.

Karyllynn Knudsen; nursing administration track; Lehi, UT. Karyllyn loves to travel and scuba dive. Scuba diving at the Barrier Reef in Australia has been her favorite trip yet. She once went to Kenya where she delivered medical supplies and provided medical training to clinics and hospitals. She speaks fluent Spanish and is a talented musician.

Nancy M. Radle (BS ’87); nursing administration track; Provo, UT.

Janalee M. Wynn; nursing administration track; Salt Lake City, UT.

