1980

Gary J. Measom (BS ’78) PhD (UNM), RN; cardiovascular nursing track; nursing professor, Utah Valley University; and a former assistant professor in the BYU College of Nursing; Woodland Hills, UT. Gary is a member of the National League for Nursing (NLN), Utah Nurses Association (UNA), American Association of Critical-Care Nurses (AACN), and American Nurses Association (ANA). He enjoys traveling, running, reading, skiing, and riding his motorcycle.

I continued my education intending to get a degree in exercise physiology and work in cardiac rehabilitation. Instead, I returned to BYU to continue my teaching career.

1980 Moyes, Dan

1980 Graduate Dan Philip Moyes

Dan Philip Moyes (BS ’72) FNP-BC; family nurse practitioner track; retired FNP, Kern Medical Center; retired lieutenant colonel, Army Nurse Corps; part-time per diem FNP at Kaiser Permanente Urgent Care; Church service mission medical adviser in the California Bakersfield Mission. He is married and has one daughter. He enjoys traveling, cruises, bicycling, photography and swimming.

The FNP program at BYU provided rotations with several providers in specialty areas. This provided more depth than spending all of the clinical time in a family practice setting. I think I was trained better because of it. I was also better prepared to meet the unique health care needs of the LDS community. I also had a better understanding of the transcultural aspects of nursing. I was better trained to educate patients in terms of their understanding and cultural diversity. I worked in an environment where not only my patients, but also my coworkers, were culturally diverse. My BYU experience not only made be a better practitioner, but a better husband, father, priesthood holder, and soldier.

